Nolan's Two Tone Amboyna Burl

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Tanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanner

I'm just throwing this one up to show the great wood that I just received from Nolan. It turned real nice and had everything from Burls, two tone, great color and even had some nice curl in some areas. Thanks again Nolan.

200721821651_Sedona%20Gold%20Ti%20Ambyna%20Burl.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

That is one great looking pen. May I ask a couple questions?? What kit is that??? How do you finish your pens??? What would a pen such as that go for pricewise??? I am just getting into pen turning and just marvel at the quality you pen turners put out. The photograghy is great too.

Tanner

Thanks Guys. John, It's a Sedona Gold Titanium from Arizona Silhouette. It's a new kit from them that is similar to a Baron but with a round top. The finish is CA. Two coats thin and two coats thick, wiped on with a Viva paper towel. MM through 12,000 grit. I finished it up with White Diamond on a buffing wheel, then Hut's Ultra High Gloss Plastic Polish and as always finished it up with TSW. Sounds like a lot, but each step only takes a minute or so, with the exception of the two thick CA layers, which I waited a minute then hit it with some accelerator.

Tanner

Hey Brian, TSW is a special blend of waxes, polymers and even a uv inhibitor. It was invented by Lou (DCBluesman)on this site. It's sold at Arizona Silhouette for $8.99 per 1/2 ounce container. You might think 1/2 ounce is not much but, you only put just a small dab of it on a paper towel. Wipe it on, wait 45 seconds, wipe it off. It's my last step in every material I use.

John, the price for something like this is probably around $60. I don't sell pens, but the people that do say that a good number to use would be 3 times the cost of materials.

gerryr

Originally posted by Tanner
<br />