New Wood Turner, First Pen.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Kanxrus

Kanxrus

I recently got into pen making, and I love it! I would consider myself self taught based on the information I was able to grab from AIP and YouTube. All comments, either good or bad are welcome.

HackBerryBurlPen1.JPG

The pen was made from Hackberry Burl with the Chrome Retro Pen Kit.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Katsin

Looks great. Good job aligning the grain and making the blank fit up well to the kit. Much better than my first pen. Did you apply finish to the wood?

OOPS

I have to agree... it IS much better than my first pen and also much better than the first Retro pen I made. I really like making these Retros but you hardly ever see them here. It is a beautiful piece of wood you used. Welcome to the group and thanks for posting your photo here.

Kanxrus

Looks great. Good job aligning the grain and making the blank fit up well to the kit. Much better than my first pen. Did you apply finish to the wood?

Thanks everyone for your replies! I sanded up to 600, then MM'd to 12,000. Finished with a brown paper bag, then put on a few coats of BEHLEN Master Woodturners Finish. Don't dare try it with the CA glue, at least not on my first go around.

wiset1

Really great first pen! I like how you lined everything up...real attention to detail

robutacion

I recently got into pen making, and I love it! I would consider myself self taught based on the information I was able to grab from AIP and YouTube. All comments, either good or bad are welcome.

OK, your IAP name looks pretty familiar to me from very recent dealings, is this right...???:wink::biggrin:

Great pen and an impressive blank you have as a backing, for a first pen you did do a beautiful job and when it comes to taken pics, you aren't that bad either...!:wink::)

Welcome!

Cheers
George

shadrach1944