New to the site - a few of my firsts

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from RLR350

RLR350

Hi all. I'm new to this, but thought I'd post a few first attempts at segmenting. A few mistakes, but overall satisfied.

The first is a Baron with walnut and maple. The other two are a Vertex thin blue line, black acrylic blank with a 1/8" blue acrylic insert and a Gatsby Grande with a combination of red, black and blue acrylic in aluminum. The white in the red is the design of the blank, thought I cut all the white out, but it showed back up when turning. I have one more of the blanks left, so I think I'll try moving it down a little to balance the red in the center. I tried to balance the aluminum on that one.

I'll work on the photography, not one of my skills.

Baron20segemented20walnut20and20maple_zpswnv2bthz.jpg
pen%201_zpsnagansel.jpg
pen%202_zpsro5dqse4.jpg

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Welcome !! Those are sharp looking pens indeed !!! You must be a professional !!!!!

RLR350

Thanks guys. Not a professional by any means, but enjoying the hobby.

Here is a link to a tutorial for the "scales" Gatsby.

Segmented Scales Pen Blank

I used 1" angle from Home Depot for the aluminum. The blue plastic is called "sign plastic" and I ordered a bunch of 1" x 1/8" x 12" cut pieces. The black and red are just cut down acrylic blanks.

I tried a few with wood, but sanding the blank is difficult since the black residue from the aluminum gets into the wood. So, plastic solved this problem, although I may try a few with darker wood covered in CA before sanding.

RLR350

I had a few questions on the glue up of the scales, so here are some pictures of the remaining portion of the blank just before the final glue up. I used CA for plastic to plastic joints and epoxy for metal to plastic joints.