New here..... Looking for feedback.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Ankrom Exotics

Hello all. Just joined the forum today. I've been a woodworker for years but have never gotten around to using a lathe or turning any pens until a couple weeks ago. Here are some pictures of my pens. Any and all feedback (pros and cons) would be appreciated.

The first two pics are Big Ben Cigar pens made of Amboyna burl and Afzelia burl respectively. The third is a slimline of Spalted Maple.

Thanks,
Pat

200862351110_Amboyna%20Burl%20Big%20Ben.jpg

200862351144_Dark%20Afzelia%20Burl%20Big%20Ben.jpg

20086235126_Spalted%20Maple_24k.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

edman2

Local Chapter Leader
Welcome Patrick. Great Pens. I wish my first ones had looked anywhere close to those. Glad to see you posting on your first day! Keep it up.

igran7

Holy cow those blanks are outrageous! The Afzelia Burl is out of this world. Welcome aboard Patrick, those are outstanding, hope to see some more from you soon.

Skye

Any and all feedback (pros and cons) would be appreciated.

Pros: Those are some great looking blanks! I’d say you did a great job hitting the bushings, which is where I find a pen is made or broken. If you can run your fingers down the pen and you can feel the transition from wood to hardware because they don’t match, I’d hide it in a drawer. Looks like you nailed it and keep an eye on them in the future because as they wear down, it’ll cause that problem. I’m guessing you’re using the upgrade gold kits for your learning curve, which is almost a shame because you’re using some stellar wood and it’s possible those plantings will fail long before you get tired of looking at that wood. Another cheap way to go is with chrome kits, which would go great with the BEB. Just go easy on them though and the gold will last you a while. Just a bit of info should you decide to start selling them.