My Take on Ancient Mars

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from wdcav1952

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
I almost didn't show this pen after seeing Kasper's awesome work, but as much as I love this blank I have to post my result.

http://exoticblanks.com/ Ancient Mars blank with Black Ti Jr Statesman RB

This is one of the most "turner friendly" resins I have ever turned. With all the streamers flying around, I thought I was at a ticker tape parade!

Attachments

• closed_591x600.jpg
    closed_591x600.jpg
    63 KB · Views: 507
  • open_800x560.jpg
    open_800x560.jpg
    82.4 KB · Views: 298
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

izaks

The pen is Beautiful - excellent work and good looking blank. Seeing your pen I'm now happy I ordered this blank.
I have very little experience with acrylic but have tried couple blanks from ExoticBlanks and they are fun to turn.

wdcav1952

Pen looks superb Cav! Sure it wasn't an Irish ticker tape parade?

Nah, the shavings weren't green!! :)

Thanks all for the kind words. I wish there was a way to capture the depths of this blank. It reminds me of the movies where you see the swirling depths of a crystal ball before it clears to show you what lies in store for you.

PR_Princess

It reminds me of the movies where you see the swirling depths of a crystal ball before it clears to show you what lies in store for you.

"Who wants to see the Future, who ever does? A man can face the Past, but to think - the pillars crumbled, you say? And the sea empty, and the canals dry, and the maidens dead, and the flowers withered?" The Martian was silent, but then he looked ahead. "But there they are. I see them. Isn't that enough for me? They wait for me now, no matter what you say."[FONT=sans-serif, Helvetica, Geneva, Arial, SunSans-Regular]
[/FONT]...Ray Bradbury, The Martian Chronicles

PR_Princess

Beautiful William!! Thank you for posting, you did a great job on the pen and really made the blank shine. :)