My PITH to Firewhatfire (first segmented)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from yorkie

yorkie

Firewhatfire's pen really pushed me to create something out of my comfort zone.

My area of specialty is rare and exceptional burls and two tones. But, I also collect historic woods. I've never attempted segmenting before but here's what I made.

I took a piece of Oak from a 1850's schooner from Wiscasset, a piece of teak from the deck of the USS North Carolina, a piece of LV that was used to wrap the propeller shaft of the USS Mariposa-a troop transporter in the Pacific during WW2, and a piece of Angelique from another schooner-the Spirit of South Carolina. I joined them all together at 60 degrees and sandwiched a slice of brass between each, as a nod to the historic ships.

It is my first attempt at segmenting, let alone using metal between the pieces. The kit is a chrome Zen. Finish is 14 coats of CA.

Attachments

• IMG_1063.jpg
    IMG_1063.jpg
    22.7 KB · Views: 192
  • IMG_1062.jpg
    IMG_1062.jpg
    23.3 KB · Views: 191
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Whoa, Stephen, nice work! Firewhatfire's gonna be a happy, happy boy.

Questions -
1 - Is this a pen kit? If yes, which one?
2 - What did you use for the brass stock?
3 - What did you use to adhere everything? (In case you haven't figured it out, I may want to try this one, too!)

yorkie

The kit is a chrome Zen kit.

I cut open some brass tubes and hammered them flat

I used 20 minute epoxy and five minute epoxy. They came apart a couple times and I found I had to keep re-gluing them. Eventually I put them on the tube and overdosed on the epoxy before clamping, as the tube kept everything in place. Next time, I think I'll drill each piece and build up the layers on the tube before gluing and clamping. That's probably how you're supposed to do it and I never knew.

Hope this helps.

Whoa, Stephen, nice work! Firewhatfire's gonna be a happy, happy boy.

Questions -