My humble attempts with CD 3D-long

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from skiprat

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
This isn't intended as a vendor review, just my efforts using another members new products.
I recently acquired several of Creative Dimensions new 3D blanks and like several people so far, I was a little duanted. Like any really good blank, you just don't want to mess it up.
I decided that on the first few, I'd go down the dye route using food colouring. I've never used dye of any sort before and originally bought the wrong type. Don't buy the ones labelled as 'Natural'
I also don't have a particularly steady hand at painting.
After reading someones 'Dye Test' on wood using either vacuum or without, I saw that the dye penetration was actually very thin if just painted on. I thought I could use this to my advantage.

Please don't judge these CD blanks by my so-so finished efforts. The colouring is my work, not theirs.

First one I tried was a gift blank Charlie included. It has the IAP logo and my name on it. The logo is complete with the small text and even the fine globe rings.
This is the blank that I used the wrong dye on. It was a really horrible grey with a slight blue tint. I washed this mostly off and re-applied the new stuff, so even now the colour isn't great.

I simply painted the entire blank in the blue dye and then CA'd it flush.
My theory was that I could simply sand down to reveal the high spots, then CA again.
I think I would have preferred this particular blank to have been engraved in the negative rather than with the raised image. I don't think blanks without the ultra fine detail ( text and globe lines) would be a concern though.

Sanding back down wasn't too difficult with a little care not to over sand.