My First Pen So Far

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Freeby

Freeby

Hey all, this is my first pen I have turned that I am really willing to show off. I am pretty new to the photography part of pen turning though so any criticism is very much appreciated.
I am not sure the name of the burl as it came from a 4 pack from Woodcraft.
The finish is a BLO/CA finish sanded with 12,000 Micro-Mesh

Attachments

• DSCN1533.jpg
    DSCN1533.jpg
    37 KB · Views: 275
  • DSCN1534 (2).jpg
    DSCN1534 (2).jpg
    29.1 KB · Views: 202
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

edicehouse

Looks good, but the same advice I recieved when I joined here; I will bestow upon you young jedi. Hit up the library section. Visit the part where people are selling stuff. I have found a few resorces here for items.

Pentatonik

For one of your first pens this looks terrific!

As for advice on the photography:

I made one of these light tents: http://www.digital-photography-school.com/how-to-make-a-inexpensive-light-tent

It looks like you tried something similar to this but this would probably work better for you. Also, if you are not already using it, make sure to use the Macro setting on your camera if you have one. I got a lot of good tips and suggestions by looking in the "Pen Photography" forum here.

One last thing, if you have Photoshop it can work wonders. I usually adjust the exposure and the saturation (to make gold colors pop a little more). Just make sure not to over do it.

Keep up the great work!

underdog

+1 on the macro advice.

It's not bad the way it is, but you may want to de-clutter the shot a little more. Two points on that:
You want a single prop that doesn't detract attention from the pen. Just use one of your blocks or chunks of wood.