My first foutain pen (and without any lathe)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Maximil

Maximil

Hello

This is my first try to make a pen. I've no lathe :eek:, so I try to do without (excuse my language, I'm French:wink:)
It's not perfect, there are problems of concentricity (?) but the next will be better.
Another thing, I have nether done woodturning before :rolleyes::biggrin:
Nothing extraordinary, but I tried to do my best.
I had another problem, the kit are in inch, but all here is metric. So it was not evident to center correctly the bushing on my M6 (6mm) homemade pen mandrel.

stylo1mx7.jpg

stylo2jg2.jpg

And for those who would like to know how I've done :confused:
stylo0tx5.jpg

I'm ready to make another on, less colourfull (black onyx), but with the same kit. I will try to have better finitions.

What do you think about this ?

(and thankss for all your explications on this site ;))

Skye

For not having a lathe, your pen looks as good, if not better, than a lot of first pens which use a lathe. Very good work!

I think that blank would make a great closed end pen. Where did you get it?

TowMater

Max,

That's awesome for a first pen. For a first pen without even a lathe is even more impressive.

One question, does your neck get sore holding it sideways to turn like that?

Keep up the good work Mon a Mi. ( I think that's French, but I never took French)

MobilMan

dntrost- you musta been reading my mind. I can't see one thing wrong with that pen.
Maximil-wouldn't it be easier if the post [tool rest] was the same length as the blanks? The pic looks like it's a lot shorter. Before I got a lathe I had kicked around the idea of using my press layed on it's back mounted in a cradle. You've shown us one doesn't need an expensive lathe to turn a first class pen.

Maximil

For not having a lathe, your pen looks as good, if not better, than a lot of first pens which use a lathe. Very good work!