My first finished collection of Cigars

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from OC1

OC1

Hi, this is my first collection of cigar pens (I really like the kit)
Sorry, I am just a beginner so no extravaganza here, just traditional exotic woods and burls and three inlaces. I used french polishing for the wood pens. I also made the stand from scrap hardwoods. Hope you like them as much as I enjoyed them to make.

pens.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Craftdiggity

Oscar,

They look great. That Snakewood one on the end in really nice. How long ago did you make that one? I ask because I made several snakewood pens and they all cracked about two or three months later. Now I hate the stuff, but it looks awqesome.

Chris

OC1

Thanks for comments.
I know snakewood is bit difficult wood. This was one of the first cigar pen I made, so it stayed for some time (and still is) crack free.
I tried to be very careful.

My teacher uses snakewood for making guitars, both as binding and fingerboard/bridge and also sometimes for sides and back. Bending involves high temperature and water (both what snakewood doesn't like), still the guitars are ok many years later.
I think for turning/drilling the high speed and removing too much material is first part of the problem where the blank may explode from heat then the finish that doesn't seep deep into wood is second, probably bigger problem. Wood turners would use someting like friction polish - that doesn't go deep to the wood, just create thin film on surface.
I (and my teacher as well) use french polish and you first start with very diluted shellac that rather seeps into the wood then work it toward full strength shellac with time. I think this plays significant role for the stability. The snakewood get sort of partially stabilized.