My First Burl

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Bobalu

Bobalu

This is my first attempt to turn a burl blank. Its maple burl on a gold Sedona. I usually turn my barrels with a bit more stock left on in the center, but I was making this for my wife, who prefers a slimmer pen. I did have some dicey times as I neared the final shaping, but remembered some advice seen here about applying CA to bolster the wood as it got thinner. I did get one chip on the upper barrel, but CA and shavings filled it in. The clip hides the eveidence. As for finish, I started with EEE Cream and polished with Shellawax. This didn't give me the luster I wanted, so ended up running it through my Beall buffer. Don't know why I didn't do it the way from the start. I think this is about the twelth pen I've made, but most of the earlier stuff was acrylic. Fell free to comment.

Attachments

• PA280240.JPG
    PA280240.JPG
    86.2 KB · Views: 283
  • PA280216.JPG
    PA280216.JPG
    81 KB · Views: 189
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Bobalu

Thanks Robin. I was hesitant about posting anything I've done so far, but decided to give it a go. Even though I'm only a beginner, I have sold about 4 of the 12 or so pens I've made. I still have a few, but the others were just given away to people I like. Looking forward to meeeting you at the next chapter meeting at Woodcraft, it I'm not out on the road somewhere.

Bob McCormick

NewLondon88

Local Chapter Leader
Looks good from here! Nice shape, good match up too.
Nothing wrong with being a beginner.We all started somewhere,
Besides.. with all the new projects people are coming up
with, even the old hands are beginners at some of it.

If you go for a wax finish, you might want something a bit
harder. The Shellawax will give a good shine, but it will
wear off quickly from handling. Skin oils are effective wax strippers.

Crashmph