My first attempts

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from mraynes24

mraynes24

Hey all,

These are the first pens i have made over the last week since i started turning.

So far I have made eight pens of varying styles and materials, with a lot more to go.

I'm new to this so don't go to hard on me ;)

The order they were made is

Slimline - Silky Oak
30 cal Bolt - Blackwood
Gatsby - Purple Acrylic
Sedona Fountain - White Blue Acrylic
Magnum - Woodlands Camo Acrylic
Slimline - Tasmanian Myrtle
Vertex Roller - Jack Daniels Barrel Stave
European - Black and White Acrylic
Cigar - Tiger Myrtle

Just got a heap of different australian burl blanks today in the mail so i am looking forward to having a play with them.

Attachments

• Slim Silky Oak.jpg
    Slim Silky Oak.jpg
    130.4 KB · Views: 243
  • 30 cal blackwood.jpg
    30 cal blackwood.jpg
    143.7 KB · Views: 211
  • Sierra Purple Acrylic.jpg
    Sierra Purple Acrylic.jpg
    121 KB · Views: 208
  • Sedona Fountain Blue White Acrylic.jpg
    Sedona Fountain Blue White Acrylic.jpg
    173.6 KB · Views: 198
  • Magnum Camo.jpg
    Magnum Camo.jpg
    103.9 KB · Views: 227
  • SlimMrytle.jpg
    SlimMrytle.jpg
    114 KB · Views: 161
  • Vertex Jack Daniels.jpg
    Vertex Jack Daniels.jpg
    214.4 KB · Views: 205
  • Euro BW.jpg
    Euro BW.jpg
    146.3 KB · Views: 170
  • Cigar Tiger Myrtle.jpg
    Cigar Tiger Myrtle.jpg
    155.3 KB · Views: 218
Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

OZturner

Nice Bundle of Pens. Ryan.
You sure jumped out of the blocks with a rush.

You asked to be treated gentle.
Frankly, I can't see anything to be overly critical about.
Your Pens look Excellent.

The first Slimline with Silky Oak, looks like the lower Blank, could be a little undercut to the Nose Cone, and the Finish looks somewhat subdued.
That could be because of the position of the light source when you took the Photograph.