More Antler

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from stoneman

stoneman

Here are three Sierra barrels turned for a friend. They vary from boney tip to marrowy midsection - all from the same deer antler. He and I both liked the complimentary colors of the middle one. That's the one I assembled and mailed off to Ken today for engraving. What appear to be scratches and marring on the black titanium are just light shadows & reflections from my poor photography.

200821234714_Three%20Antler%20Blanks.jpg

20082123517_AP00030A.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

toolcrazy

I can't wait for spring so I can turn some antler. I refuse to turn that stuff in a closed shop.

Beautiful pen. I think any one of the barrels would of looked great.

Stevej72

Steve, all three look great. It's amazing how different antler looks as you turn different pieces of the same rack. Yesterday I finished my 31st antler pen since August.

Those are beautiful barrels, Steve. I have no experience whatsoever with antler. Is the material hollow? Does antler give a strong odor when turning? I notice the high gloss on your barrels. How did you achieve that?

Chasper

Nice antler, good work, I haven't tried antler on a Sierra, I think I will now.
About the smell; light up a cigar while you are turning. Old antler isn't as bad.

stoneman

Originally posted by Proud_Poppa_of_2

Those are beautiful barrels, Steve. I have no experience whatsoever with antler. Is the material hollow? Does antler give a strong odor when turning? I notice the high gloss on your barrels. How did you achieve that?
Mike,
Antler grows like (is, actually), bone. Animals like porcupines and squirrels chew shed antlers to get the calcium they contain. The outer "skin" is hard, like bone and the inner core is marrow, like bone. Generally, the antler base, the outer layer and tips of the antler points are solid bone and they gradually change to marrow, sometimes very porous, as they approach the center of the antler.