Lignum Vitae Sierra, by BigRob Pen # 5

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from BigRob777

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigRob777

Well, I botched my 4th pen, but this one came out best of all, I think. It is the "flattest" (least contoured) pen I have turned to date and it is finished with BLO, CA and then TSW, from DCBlues. This is my first time using the TSW and I am hooked. It is awesome stuff.

I am actually finally open to critique on this one. I know it has some flaws, but it is my best so far. Thanks Lou and Jim for your input. The picture stinks, but I am not yet set up, with my million dollar photo studio (white plastic bin with halogens).
Rob

20051112203550_DSCN1777-2.jpg

Since I don't have a website, here's a nice link:
http://www.penturners.org/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=10564

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ron Mc

Rob,
Great shape on this Sierra. I made 7 Sierra's last night and found that the shape that you illustrate above is right for the kit. On another note. Is Lignum Vitae the wood that they used to make piston out of for the steamships?
Nicely done.

BigRob777

I guess it is what they used. I know that it is used for buide blocks on band saws. Thanks for the compliments. I also am using an oval skew now and holding it right, thanks to Clem (also from Delaware). I am a one pen a day, kind of guy, with my bad back. It makes me sore, but I know I am sanding wrong. I bought a mini lathe, to use inside and I will design my work space so that I can rest my arms and back, when I turn. I will have to use my big lathe for larger stuff, but at least I can turn pens in the winter, without freezing my fingers off.
Rob

lkorn

Rob, Nice job on the Sierra! When I can't find any flaws with one of my pens, I hand it to my wife, who then proceeds to tell me whats wrong[:(].