Lesson Learned

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from SteveAxelrod

SteveAxelrod

I've been turning pens now for about 6 months and though I've been lucky so far I still forget to consider painting my tubes. The Stardust Trails Acrylic blank is described as "black swirled through a pearly gold and platinum colored resin". Though it turned out close to this description, the brass tube is more noticeable than I'd prefer. I'm just not sure what color would have been best to paint the tube - perhaps silver?

Comments and suggestions would be appreciated.

BTW - Vesper Click Pen Kit in Gun Metal

Attachments

• Vesper Click & Stardust Trails 1.jpg
    Vesper Click & Stardust Trails 1.jpg
    86 KB · Views: 289
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stonepecker

I believe that coloring the epoxy or painting the inside of the blank would have been a netter idea. That is one of the problems looking through a blank when you turn it as thin as that appears.

Another idea is to make a paint stick with the main colors you would like to paint with. Then at least you could insert the stick and "see" if a certain color looks better then another. (I got that little trick off of Exotic Blanks and the "how to" videos)

Other then the 'tube' problem......That is one fine looking pen.

RKB

Very nice. I really like this kit. I use a spray gray primer a lot for blanks that I don't know what color to use. Thanks for sharing.

Rod

SteveAxelrod

Thanks for the comments and suggestions.

I like the idea of coloring the epoxy as it's as quick and simple as adding a drop of acrylic paint to the resin, mixing, then adding the hardner. It seems white or gray would be the most neutral color and have the least effect on the colors of the blank. Silver may have worked well for this blank.

Can the color of a painted tube be seen through a blank before it's turned?

CREID