Its a Piano Keyboard - Tutorial added

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Chuck Key

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck Key

I know, the picture is a little busy but Seasonal, the mirror image is out of focus and it is not wood. Anyway, this is my first attempt at a keyboard glue up.

2005121431141_KEYBOARD.jpg

Chuckie

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dfurlano

So you cut all the sections of the keyboard and glued it up yourself? Thats a great job! What materials did you use and how did you get the lines between the keys?

Deere41h

Very nicely done John....I assume the kit is the Panache. Are you going to share how you did the keyboard? If I had to guess it was printed on paper and embedded in PR. Only a guess though.

That is one very nice pen!!! I really like it.

Chuck Key

Originally posted by Deere41h
<br />Very nicely done John....I assume the kit is the Panache. Are you going to share how you did the keyboard? If I had to guess it was printed on paper and embedded in PR. Only a guess though.

That is one very nice pen!!! I really like it.

Yes it is Panache and no I did not use a printer or paper. It is 32 pieces glued up with 31 glue joints.

Here is a list of steps I posted at Yahoo Penturners:

Here is a quick list of the steps performed to complete the keyboard. I believe all the materials are listed except the black rubberized CA glue. Do not attempt the glue up using the black rubberized CA on your anniversery when you are planning to go to Ruth Chris for dinner and to a XMAS party that evening.

You will not need a mandrel or bushings to complete this project.

1. Cut and glue up 17 Corian strips 1/8 x 1/2 x 3/4
2. Disk sand to make all surfaces flat
3. Cut slots for sharps and flats on table saw half way through the 1/2 inch thickness. Diablo blade.
4. Glue in black keys cut from .060 sheet Styrene
5. Flaten all sides again and sand to final thinkness of about 3/8 for this pen.
6. Glue on strips for solid sides.