Holm Oak, Streamline

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from talbot

talbot

I'd never heard of this wood until recently when a friend gave me a couple of logs.
Holm Oak is actually an evergreen Oak and it works extremely well.
This is my first attempt with it and also with Streamlines and i'm pleased on both counts.
Regards, Bill.
PS:
I'll have a lot of blanks ready soon so will probably want to trade some.

P1010377.jpg

P1010378.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PaulDoug

Pretty stuff. Nice job. The bottom picture, looks like there is a wood spirit. Two eyes, the top of his head toward the nib and his beard flowing towards the end of the pen. Well I see it!

toolcrazy

Pretty stuff. Nice job. The bottom picture, looks like there is a wood spirit. Two eyes, the top of his head toward the nib and his beard flowing towards the end of the pen. Well I see it!

I see it too. It must be a northwest thing.

That is some cool grain. Nice pen.

davebrac

talbot,

That is quite interesting I have a few large bits of holm oak drying at present. A whole tree fell down last year and l managed to get a few planks from it, last time l looked it was drying, but the 3" planks had some shake in it:eek: Originally thought was a garden bench from this haul but pens, bowls vases etc have all been discussed as the grain is so distinctive.:)

bitshird

Sorry, Paul, but ganja is not legal in Pennsylvania so I don't see it! :biggrin::biggrin::wink:
Ossifer I habint had nuthin t'day
but I see what almost looks like a Massi warrior's shield or dance mask

I see it too. It must be a northwest thing.

That is some cool grain. Nice pen.
Nah we got some grows wild round here, even better than Morning Glory oils

I see it also, maybe it is a coastal thing. I like that wood and the pen looks great with it.
You been out pullin Morning Glory vines?? or are Y'all eatin the Moon Flower seeds?

bitshird