Herd of Moose

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Crayman

Crayman

I scored some very nice moose antler :biggrin:, the lady who I got them from wanted some pens, so I made a few and she bought 4 :wink: the 2 click and 2 Europeans. The European with the Marine emblem went to Seattle to my cousins son who just got back from his second tour of Iraq.

Attachments

• Herd of Moose.jpg
    Herd of Moose.jpg
    33.2 KB · Views: 431
  • moose antler.jpg
    moose antler.jpg
    50 KB · Views: 243
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Nice pens, Craig!!

I have never worked with moose antler. Is the flat part suitable for a pen, or do you just use the "round" part. (As you can tell, I am an antler expert!!)

Appreciate any feedback as I have a guy that would like us to sell it on "exotics" and I have no clue if its a good or bad idea!!!

Crayman

Ed, the flats are OK to work with, they are only thick enough, the one's I have, for slims and Euro's, the edges and tines are good for most style's. the I did both El Grande (not pictured) and JR Gent. The 2 small were thicker than the larger,no real plam / flat area. The palm has more marrow than a deer antler, the edge and tine are simliar to deer antler, but all of it turns nice, just a little CA to fill in the marrow before sanding

stoneman

Nice pens, Craig!!

I have never worked with moose antler. Is the flat part suitable for a pen, or do you just use the "round" part. (As you can tell, I am an antler expert!!)

Appreciate any feedback as I have a guy that would like us to sell it on "exotics" and I have no clue if its a good or bad idea!!!

Ed,