Guitar Neck Pen v.3.0

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from hewunch

hewunch

OK, this one has yet some more improvements. Per the suggestion of an IAP member, I tried some aluminum flashing for the frets. That did make them wider. I was able to line up the dots much better this time and the dots are Mother of Pearl. Plexiglass finish MM to 12000. As always, comments welcome.

guitar3sm.jpg

guitar3opensm.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chriselle

That doesn't look good...

It looks GREAT!:biggrin:

I'm a long time guitarist and guitar/amp builder...and this one is far better than your previous versions. I want to try building a few "neck" pens myself.

If I may be so bold as to add a few comments on a few things that "grab my attention"....

The rule of 18 and fret spacing was discussed before and I like your spacing on this pen the best of the three. The thicker frets look better, too.

The fretboard is a little light in colour and looks like a custom Pao Ferro finger board which is rarely used. I'd stick to a more typical darker piece of Brazilian rosewood. That'll also make your fretwork and inlays pop.

Another thing and it's a big one....for me at least..is the segmentation of the rosewood. I've re-fretted many guitars over the years and sometimes I have to fill in the slot and re-cut with my fret saw. I think your pen would be perfect if you could cut slots for the "frets" in a single piece and fit your aluminum to the width of those slots thus keeping the wood grain continuous.

I'm sure there is going to be a Version 4 so just some ideas to think about. :highfive:

Chris Leadbeater

Chriselle Pens and B Point Amplification

ldb2000

Hans , This is definatley your best yet , the Frets are great but I would have to agree with Chris , a darker wood like rose wood would really set the frets off nicely .
Oh and bring back the inlay on the back of the neck , I think that would be a nice touch .
Can't wait for #4
:good::good::good:

hewunch