Great material, but what a pain...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from bgray

bgray

Absolutely beautiful, but the melting point of this stuff is very low, and brittle regardless of temperature....took me double my normal time, but made a great pen....

dscn0001_125.jpg
dscn0002_774.jpg
dscn0003_197.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wheaties

I'm pretty sure that it's original Shaeffer stock. It's gone by many names, so I don't know which is actually correct, but it's usually called Jungle Moss.

Hmmm. Still don't know what it is? :confused:

But it looks really nice!

bgray

Great looking material and pen . It sure seems to take threads well .

The Sierra material shown above is not the same material, but I believe that it's the same composition. I think that it's a kind of cellulose acetate, but in all honesty, I'm not sure at all. I'm not a plastics expert, by any means.

And NO NO NO...it does not take threads well at all. It's very brittle.

That barrel was my second attempt. I only advanced my cutter a couple of thou's with each pass. Cutting the threads took forever. Those threads are quad lead, and every lead probably took 15 minutes (multiply by four)...then repeat that for the cap, then do the single lead threads on the finial, internal cap finial, section, internal barrel section, and internal housing section threads....

Like I said, I should have charged more...but it is a great looking material.

jttheclockman

The Sierra material shown above is not the same material, but I believe that it's the same composition. I think that it's a kind of cellulose acetate, but in all honesty, I'm not sure at all. I'm not a plastics expert, by any means.

And NO NO NO...it does not take threads well at all. It's very brittle.