Gator, Gold fill

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from wiset1

wiset1

I can't say that I did this Gator blank justice. This is my first time turning something like this and aside from the smell it wasn't that bad. The bone marrow was picked out with a razor and then the voids were packed with Gold Pearl-ex. During the turn I found a void in the lower barrel so I turned it down and added a brass accent and black PR band. I did this for the top as well to pull it together. These blanks look awesome when done correctly...I have more work to do:rolleyes:

Enjoy

6415508091_9504dfff7a_z.jpg

Larger images can be seen in my IAP Gallery or on my Flickr site, both linked below. Enjoy!

SDB777

When you say you have more work to do, your meaning making another right? Cause this instrument is a top-of-the-line piece!

I need a new adjective to describe this one, cause the normal words won't do!

Scott (A+ turning) B

wiset1

When you say you have more work to do, your meaning making another right? Cause this instrument is a top-of-the-line piece!

I need a new adjective to describe this one, cause the normal words won't do!

Scott (A+ turning) B

I've seen others on the site that are just screaming off the screen...I just feel that I'll have to make a couple more to find that perfect one. I love the blank, I just think I could have done better with it.:cool:

wiset1

Thanks Roy...I just feel like I need a couople more to work on. I think deep down I like the idea of working with this as a material so I'm pushing past the smell and wanting more, ha ha ha. Thanks

wiset1

I'm sure you would, ha ha ha. It will end up going in a box and packed away with the rest of my pens. It's a shame really. The wife is on me to sell them, but really...I'm just doing it for fun and the idea of asking someone to pay for it...well. It's fun until it becomes work!

Drstrangefart