Folk Art dye

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Math2010

Math2010

First try with that dye. Really happy of the result!

We dont see it on the picture, but I inserted the transmission to deep in the tube, so I will not be able to sell it, because the tip goes to far when we turn the pen... I'm still Learning...

Attachments

• 20170904_194346_2.jpg
    20170904_194346_2.jpg
    152.8 KB · Views: 269
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Math2010

What wood did you use ? . I really like the final color !!!!

Thanks! I'm surprise about the colour. I bought it as a test colour, but I'll make some other pens with it. :)

I used Maple (Blank made from a kitchen table leg that someone wanted to throw away... I made few scrollsaw puzzles with the table top and pen blanks with the legs...)

Curly

Transfer punches are ment for use by machinists and fitters to mark holes from one piece to another. They are used in pen making to knock apart a pen by putting it in to the tube and hitting it with a hammer until the part comes out. Hold the pen with a rubber glove or rubber coated glove to keep from marking it.

Sometimes Busy Bee have them on sale for about $12.00

Last edited:

Math2010

Transfer punches are ment for use by machinists and fitters to mark holes from one piece to another. They are used in pen making to knock apart a pen by putting it in to the tube and hitting it with a hammer until the part comes out. Hold the pen with a rubber glove or rubber coated glove to keep from marking it.

Cool, thank you!
I guess we start with the tip of the barrel and after we're doing the transmission?

mecompco

Cool, thank you!
I guess we start with the tip of the barrel and after we're doing the transmission?

Yes, use a small punch to knock the tip out, then a larger punch from the tip end to move the transmission back. Multiple easy blows from a dead blow hammer are much more effective than heavy blows. It WILL move (even if loctited).

eharri446