First two one piece slims

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from phil

phil

Biednick posted an awesome one piece slim the other day and it inspired me to give it a try. This is the closest ive ever come to kitless, and i think it might just be a new direction for me in 2011. the toughest part of this was drilling the 4 1/2" blank on my REALLY cheap drill press that only has a travel of about 2 1/4" before i have to raise it up. im getting a new lathe for sure this year so ill have to deffinately get myself set up for drilling on the lathe.

anyhow, sorry for rambling. chrome slim hardware, first is indian princess from psi, and the second is Jade Princess from beartoothwoods.

Being this is my first time with these, id apreciate a fair critique, not just "Wow thats the sweetest thing ive ever seen!!!" (although id take that too :tongue: ) Personally im not too sure i like the shape, but they are very comfortable to write with this way.

IMG_0204.jpg

IMG_0203.jpg

IMG_0202.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mbroberg

IAP Activities Manager, Emeritus
Nice job Phil. From what I can see in the photo the finish is spot on. The shape is not too bad. Th green might be slightly overturned at the tip but that may be an optical illusion due to the picture. I do like the one piece pens. They show off the blanks nicely.

Crickett

Those are 2 very nice looking pens.:good:
The only thing I would do different is change the clip position of the purple/blue pen, it's tough when the blank is clearly split in half with colour so I would tend to have the clip on the division line to show both sides, please keep in mind that's my preference.

fernhills

Very nice. I have made a few and you are right the hardest part is the drilling. The next one i will do is some sort of a segment to enhance the length of the pen so it does not look so plain.

Seer