First Ribbon with Cartridge Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from jwalt191

jwalt191

This is an Army Commendation Ribbon with a 30-06 rifle cartridge. The cartridge was done by jdskeen, and I did the decal. This was made for an Ranger friend. I am looking for a better clear coat process. This was done with clear laquer, and it seems to be chipping off at th top of the cartridge. Let me know you ya'll think.

Attachments

• 100_9201mod.JPG
    100_9201mod.JPG
    34.2 KB · Views: 253
  • 100_9202mod.JPG
    100_9202mod.JPG
    42.4 KB · Views: 200
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PaulDoug

That is nice. You may need to set your self up to do clear powder coating on the casings. I've don't even know what all the takes but I think it is how most are doing it. Man if you took some of those pens to your local VFW I think you would sell them like hot cakes. I'm a VN vet and I plan on making myself one as soon as I vet set up to cast.

Is that decal just glued on and than covered with lacquer?

Sylvanite

am looking for a better clear coat process. This was done with clear laquer, and it seems to be chipping off at th top of the cartridge.

Looks quite nice.

There are lacquer formulations made for metal - even specifically for brass. They will adhere better than lacquer for wood. Next time you're at a paint store, look for "brass lacquer".

Or, you could try powder-coating. Powder-paint is a baked-on polyester coating that is very durable. The baking process, however, can discolor bullets, and some brass alloys. It might also destroy the decal.

Regards,
Eric

jwalt191

This pen was for the quartermaster at the local VFW. One of the reasons I am doing so many of these. The decal is the type of decal paper used for model cars, airplanes, etc. I was $6.99 for a 8 1/2" x 11" sheet, so it is very expensive. but yes it is glued on and then coated with laquer. I don't think the decals would make it through the bake process for the powder coat.

novop711