First real segmentation

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from maxwell_smart007

maxwell_smart007

Lead Moderator
Staff member
middle of nowhere in the great, white North
Here's a Sierra in bloodwood and figured maple...I'm new to segmenting, but I think it turned out ok...

ANdrew

Attachments

• DSCF4264.jpg
    DSCF4264.jpg
    18.5 KB · Views: 352
  • DSCF4265.jpg
    DSCF4265.jpg
    19.2 KB · Views: 274
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

maxwell_smart007

Lead Moderator
Staff member
not really, Nick...I did a slimline back in my first few months as a penturner, but it was just little left-over blocks glued together randomly...this one was my first real 'segmentation' with a pattern...I did this one completely from start to finish, including milling the blanks....

I still have no idea what I'm doing though! I think there must be a trick that I haven't figured out...it's hard!

VisExp

Nice job Andrew. You got the pattern centered nicely along the length. What glue did you use? When I am gluing wood to wood I use Titebond II. You will not get the visible glue lines that you often get using CA or Polyurenthane glue. Although I like to clamp where possible, you can get a suprisingly strong joint just using a "rub joint".

Mack C.

Passed Away Sep 29, 2018
In Memoriam
Here's a Sierra in bloodwood and figured maple...I'm new to segmenting, but I think it turned out ok...

ANdrew
Hi Andrew; Nice idea! as well as you just turned the light bulb on in my head.

I'm waiting for my order of 10 Fishers of Men Sierra pens to arrive. I have some shorts of Bloodwood, Holly & BOW. I may try putting all 3 together in an F of M pen! Any comments?

leehljp

Member Liaison
I used thick CA, Keith...I think that I'll try it again with titebond...

I think another problem is my cheap ol' bandsaw...it's tough to get the table to exactly 90...I think the degree of slop in the table might be causing some troubles...