First Closed End Pen!!!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Jmhoff10500

Jmhoff10500

This is my first Closed end pen and i feel it is the best pen i have turned yet! It is Vasticola Burl (My New Favorite Wood) and i am hooked! Thank you to those who have posted tutorials on how to do this, this is now my personal carry pen...

I am not feeling great about the pictures... Can you guys please drill me on the photography (dont bash the pen too hard:biggrin:) so i can improve it?

IMG_1671.jpg

IMG_1688.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MikeG

To get both ends of the pen in focus, check out this link: Pen Photography The section on depth of field and using the Av setting on your camera to get a f/11 or f/16 aperture should help. I may not be the best to advise on this as I am just learning myself. Perhaps more experienced photographers will chime in.
Good luck,
Mike

IPD_Mrs

Mike has given you very good advice. Depth of field is on or about page 4 and is exactly what you need to be dealing with in order to take care of that situation. Also photo looks better on white - you aren't picking up the little dust/lint particles that you were in the first one. That is a nice piece of wood that you worked with!

ctubbs

First off, beautiful wood and finish. The componants used work very well with the wood. congratulations on a fine pen.