First cartridge

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from gwilki

gwilki

This is my first attempt at one of these. Interesting project.

The kit parts are from a Perfect Fit.

I welcome your critiques.

200851133919_cartridge%201.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gwilki

Thanks, guys.

Would anyone know of a source for brass clips? The pic does not show it, but this clip, being Ti gold, is a different colour than the brass cartridge. I'd like them to match.

Sylvanite

Looks nice. Is the progression in case size (small head, medium centerband, large nib) and in wood length (short lower barrel, longer upper) intentional? I usually try to match the length of the wood on the two halves, and the brass on the head to the case shoulder (and I prefer a smaller centerband). But those are simply esthetic choices.

Out of curiousity, how did you attach the transmission coupler to the case head? When I did a perfect fit like that, I retapped the piece that the kit finial screws into, and put a small screw through the flash hole. That, in turn, was covered by an empty primer cup.

Regards,
Eric

gwilki

Eric: I would love to say the dimensions were intentional, but they were not. My next one will have the two blanks closer in size and the centre band narrower. So there. :D (I looked on your site; your cartridge/antler pen is really fine.) For the coupler, I drilled out the end of the casing and used a 4mm x .7 brass screw to hold the coupler to the end of the casing. That way, I didn't need to tap the coupler. I like your idea of covering the screw with an empty primer cup. I'll have to see about getting some of them.

Paul: I prepared the cartridge. I just bought a bag and started cutting them up. Not difficult. The bitch was drilling the bullet. Lead wants to melt itself around the bit in no time flat.

Sylvanite

Originally posted by gwilki