First Baron, First BOW

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from bonefish

Status
Not open for further replies.

bonefish

I know there are some mistakes in it, but I like it, not because I made it, but because I really like the Baron Design. The finish is CA. This is my first attempt at a CA finish, and I see from the picture that I need a lot more practice.

Yesterday, while I was waiting in the car for my wife, I had my camera and and the pen with me. I lay the pen on my knee and took the picture.

Comments, both good and bad.

Bonefish
20067515435_BOW%202.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gerryr

I think it looks pretty good, although I admit that I am not a big fan of B2B turning. The finish looks like it wasn't completely smoothed out and and sanded with Micro Mesh, it looks a bit rough, or maybe that's from shooting it in the car. Micro Mesh is an absolutely must for a good CA finish. That said, my first several attempts at a CA finish were not even close to this good.

JimGo

To expand on Gerry's coments a little, you can see the "finish rings" in the pen; small rings that run around the barrel that are a byproduct of the sanding process. Try turning the lathe off and sanding along the length of the barrel between sanding grits. That will help knock down more of those rings. Some here even sand with the lathe turned off, and only sand along the length of the barrel.

The CA also appears to be a little cloudy on the ends of the main barrel, and shiny near the middle. You'll find that this happens with oily woods like Olive, Cocobolo, Lignum Vitae, etc. The oils seem to keep the CA from curing properly into a nice, shiny finish. Some here have recommended wiping oily wood blanks with DNA before starting the CA finishing process to give more consistent results, as the DNA appears to wipe off some/most of the oil. Others here disagree very strongly on this advice.