fiddling with laminations

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from ahoiberg

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahoiberg

so, this is my first attempt at angled segments. i turned my bandsaw head to 15 degrees and made some cuts, glued 'em up and here's the result.

a modified gold euro with makore (the light wood) and imbuya (the dark) with a leftover piece of curly koa for the centerband.

i thought i wasn't too happy with it, but after all was said and done, i ended up liking it although my bushing fit wasn't very well executed...

makoreandimbuya.jpg

thanks for looking, comments always welcome.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
I think it looks damn smart, esp the finish. I would have been inclined to use the same imbuya for the cb though.

ahoiberg

i use a ca finish, vernon. all thin. i've tried thick and medium and it just frustrates the hell out of me. about 6 or 8 coats when all is said and done. with sanding in between. if you're interested, i can send you the full routine.

gary... comments, questions, concerns... and yes, maybe a critique or two... [;)]

ahoiberg

alright... here goes...

all of this is done at 1800 RPM these days. earlier, i would slow it down to 500 RPM to apply the CA and that helps you figure out how to get the smoothest coats possible. but once you get it, you can speed it up.

so i don't have to type it a bunch of times, i use DNA to wipe after each low grit of sandpaper. i.e. 220, 320 and 400. after applying the coats of CA (not including the sealer coat), i stop using DNA. it seems to fog things up. i just wipe it with a dry paper towel a few times and that seems to clean it fine since i'm not creating a ton of dust at this point. and a little CA dust will fill in any small voids and not cause any major problems.

1) typically, when done turning, i sand with 220.

2) apply a coat of thin CA (grain filler) with the piece of 220.