Fat capped wunder :)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from watch_art

watch_art

So I did this one the other day with a black section - made a section from the same materials last night, and a cap tonight. Maybe 3 1/2 -4 hours in it all together. Cap is a bit fat but I'm still learning...

002.JPG

003.JPG

004.JPG

005.JPG

006.JPG

007.JPG

008.JPG

009.JPG

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SDB777

The cap does appear to be a touch oversized...but that's not usually the part that gets held a lot anyway....so if the other part feels right in the hand.....you win!

Nice threading!

Scott

watch_art

Thanks! Something I just noticed when looking at the pics - the cap is a bit out of round as well as being a bit thick. Oh well...

BSea

Nice looking pen. It looks like you made the section from a different blank, and used 1 blank to try & match the cap to the barrel. Looks like a pretty good match

watch_art

Actually it's all from the same stuff. The section just didn't have any red in it. Didn't turn out as nice as I was hoping.

BSea

Actually it's all from the same stuff. The section just didn't have any red in it. Didn't turn out as nice as I was hoping.
I meant the same blank material, but a different blank. I don't know of any other way to do that and get the same colors since a standard blank isn't long enough to do a closed ended pen.

EDIT: I guess I should have read what you posted instead of just looking at the pictures.:bulgy-eyes: That's what you said you did in the beginning.

I'm going to play with making a cap with a clip tonight. I'm just using some scraps though till I know what I'm doing.

BTW, what threads are you using on your cap & barrel?

Last edited:

BSea