Expanded Horizons

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Rob

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob

While this photo is lacking, it is my first attempt at anything like this, other than a couple of "linear" segmented pens. I owe a debt of gratitude to Scott (Trapshooter) who sent me a Celtic cross pen in the 2006 PITH. He was kind enough to steer me in the right direction to try my own. Truly one of the reasons I so enjoy this site. So much knowledge and wisdom that is freely shared...even if Doc Stram and I never win anything!!! Thanks to you all, and especially to Scott. Satin gold cigar, redheart with yellowheart segments, CA finish (modified Fangar). As always, comments, suggestions and critiques gratefully accepted. Regards, Rob

200713015255_celtic%20cigar.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JDPens

That looks great. Ditto on the knot, excellent choice of plating as well. In the pic, the knot is looks nearly the same color as the plating. Satin Gold?
What woods did you use?

Rob

Thanks all. Josh, I used redheart for the main "body" and yellowheart for the celtic cross/knot. The satin gold plating really does work very well with the yellowheart.

Rob

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
Hi Rob, yours is light years ahead of my first cross - laminated pen.
My first lesson I learnt from this site, after doing mine, was that the laminates need to be exactly the same as the blade kerf to keep them aligned. Please don't take this as critisism though.
I went out and spent a small fortune on different blades, till I figured out how to cut my blank twice to keep them lined up.
You didn't have the other problem I had as well, I didn't realize that the blank needs to be square as well. Well done, I think you started higher up the ladder than most of us have.[:)]

beathard