Ebony & Amboyna Fountain Pen with Metal Inlay

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Rolandranch

Rolandranch

This is my first try working with aluminum. It is made from ebony, amboyna burl, and aluminum strips.

I had a little trouble with gluing the aluminum to the wood/burl. I had to re-glue some of the aluminum pieces before they stayed on. I used CA glue but am wondering if there is something else I should use.

Please let me know if you have any tips on working with metal in pens.
Any comments are welcome.

KK2X3460.jpg KK2X3461.jpgKK2X3463.jpg KK2X3456.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

I use 5-minute epoxy for jobs like that because I believe the working time is longer and I can slide the pieces around a bit until I get the clamp tightened securely. . Perhaps with the thickness of CA you used you have enough working time.

You have made a very nice looking pen there !!

Last edited:

jttheclockman

Hello Seth

Very nice looking pen and photos. I have to ask, in your bio you say you are 15 years old. The pens I have seen you put out are some extrodinary looking pens and the photos are not to shabby either. Are you doing these pens or are you getting help??? I ask because there is not too many if any 15 year old pen makers here. Then to do the work you are putting out. Are the tools you are using yours or someone elses and are you familar with their workings??? The photos are also first rate and are you taking them??? There are people here that can not do what you are doing and they have been at it for some time.

How are you finding time to do this and go to school and most 15 year olds are doing other things than hanging out in a shop. :):)

Just had to ask and hope you are honest.

This is a nice job with that pen. The use of materials blends very well and the design is symmetrical which I like. As far as glues go. They have been done with both Med CA and epoxy with all kinds of cure times. I prefer epoxy.