Double Celtic Knot

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from gketell

Status
Not open for further replies.

gketell

Local Chapter Leader
Amboyna Burl on a Platinum Cigar kit from Berea (via Woodcraft) with aluminum (bottom of soda can) and more Amboyna Burl segmenting. CA finish.

I pushed my envelope and it is by far the best pen I have ever made.
tn_IMG_4636.jpg

And a close-up of the knot.

tn_IMG_4638.jpg

Actually getting a good photo of the highly reflective strips is tough!!

GK

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gketell

Local Chapter Leader
Thanks for all the nice comments!!

I haven't yet done a tutorial (since this was my first celtic knot pen) but I will try to do so on my next one.

I've had a request to tell how I did the CA finish. I'm just a newbie (this is only my second CA success) so getting it gloss smooth by putting the CA on "just right" is way out of my reach. Sand paper is my friend. I sanded the blank starting with 400 grit then switching to MicroMesh (MM) all the way through 12000. (Since I had widely varying densities I held the sandpaper across a different blank to act as a sanding board.)

At that point there was a little dust trapped in the pores and voids of the blank so I took a paper towel, added 3 drops of boiled linseed oil and pretended it was a friction polish: lathe on high and rubbed it in hard and kept rubbing it for 3-5 minutes. Now the wood was beeAutiful and all the dust looked like wood again.

Ok, lathe on slow, clean paper towel on the bottom and dribble a few drops of thin CA across the top until fully coated. Repeat. Switch to thick CA and repeat 3 times.