Custom Lever Fill FP - Prototype

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Brooks803

Brooks803

Here's my first go at making a lever fill fountain pen. I have a customer that has commissioned me to make him one. Since I had never tried one before I told him I had to do some prototyping first! This is my first try at it. I must say I'm very proud of it! It sure was a pain to make though! I have many many hours handfitting the lever box and relief opening.

For those that enjoy the stats of the pen here they are:

Length

Overall: 5 5/8"
Cap: 2 1/2"
Body + section: 5 1/4"

Ink System

Lever Fill
#18 Sac

Threads

Cap/Body: 12x.08mm Triple lead
Body/Section: 9x.75mm
Nib: 9/32x36tpi

Material

Take a wild guess :cool::wink::tongue::biggrin:

DSC03640 (632x700).jpg DSC03649 (553x700).jpg DSC03651 (576x700).jpg DSC03652 (545x700).jpg DSC03659 (700x432).jpg DSC03650 (579x700).jpg DSC03655 (700x695).jpg

Thanks for looking!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jyreene

That's a winner Jonathon. I like being able to see the clip band. Seems to just fit nicely like that. Is that the brown swirl alumilite? One thing I noticed that could just be the angles. The recessed portion under the lever is not quite as polished as the rest.

Can't wait to see that in person. Great job as usual.

Kaspar

Really fine piece of work. Total Class! I have a friend whose wanted one of those since he was a kid watching Bugs Bunny use a pen like that to spray ink in Elmer Fudd's face.

Where does one get the mechanisms for these different FP types (lever fillers, pump fillers, etc ...) ?

Last edited:
Wow Awesome work Jonathan! I like the colors you came up with for this. The lever looks nice in there. Did you use a rotary tool to cut it out or did you make a jig and router it out? I bet that took some trial and error to get it right, but I really like the results.

Brooks803