Critiques Please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from johnhart

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnhart

I'm fairly new to pen turning and I'm really struggling for ideas on form. Here's three slimlines that I tried to put some shape in to and I was wondering if they are too busy or stupid looking or if I'm on the right track. Thanks a grunch!

Figured Beech - Ambrosia Maple - Cherry -- Finish is Beeswax
200571112639_BeechAmbrosiaAndCherrysm.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fred in NC

John: The pens look nice. I have sold a bunch of that shape. I call them "bulge" pens, and some people like them because they have a little more to hold on to, and they don't really want a big pen.

It is kind of funny, because these people would not normally spend money for a wood pen.

JimGo

John,
I like the shape; in fact, I've made some with similar shapes. To me, a standard slimline is too thin to write with comfortably, and I think that's true even for most adults with smaller hands. By giving the lower barrel a gentle curve, you've thickened the barrel and given the user something easier to hold. Your finish certainly looks good in those pictures, too!

My only other critique is that you appear to do like I do, and simply make the ends of the barrels match the bushings. As you can see from the left-hand most pen, this can sometimes lead to the tip not QUITE meeting the end of the lower barrel (i.e. over or under-turned barrels), and even some differences at the CB and finial. If you were to use a micrometer, or even stop the lathe and do a "dry fit" of the tip, you'd probably get more accurate results (again, this is something I need to remember to do, too!).