Cork pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Mossy

Mossy

I posted this on Jgrtens thread I'd welcome constructive coments. As i'm fairly new to pen turning I thought I would give it a try. It's a gents pen in yew with the cork from my wife's favorite wine. I think I should have taken more from the inside to reduce the outside diameter.

Attachments

• roc1.jpg
    roc1.jpg
    100.7 KB · Views: 374
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
That is a very interesting pen. I have never thought of trying that. It is fun to try new and different things while turning. I like that you put the wood at each end of the cork. Nice work that is for sure.

CSue

Local Chapter Leader
The Yew compliments the cork nicely. I think the finish is beautiful, too. And like Mike said, its a nice touch with a bit of Yew on each side of the cork.

Have you experimented to see how far you can turn down the cork before the lettering disappears? I don't know anything about whether its burned in or stamped on . . . Since the cap isn't posted on the end to write and she's happy with it, I think it's really cool. I never would have thought of it!

Jgrden

I posted this on Jgrtens thread I'd welcome constructive coments. As i'm fairly new to pen turning I thought I would give it a try. It's a gents pen in yew with the cork from my wife's favorite wine. I think I should have taken more from the inside to reduce the outside diameter.

Beautiful work. You are right. You need to drill out the center, slice a portion and then glue it to the tube. Wonderful finish. Send cork my way. :wink:

Jgrden

The Yew compliments the cork nicely. I think the finish is beautiful, too. And like Mike said, its a nice touch with a bit of Yew on each side of the cork.