Cocobolo Patrizio, first real try at CA finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from AZturner

AZturner

Hello,

Just finished up my first real try at a CA finish after doing some research on some different approaches. I would appreciate any feedback on the finish, and also on the pen itself as I'm still new to this stuff (think this is my 6th finished piece now?)

Thanks in advance for any critiques or feedback for improvement!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

flyitfast

Overall, I like the pens. The fit, particularly at the centerband, might need to be matched a little better. Make sure you use calipers to match up the measurements with the hardware. However, I can't tell for sure due to the background. The finish looks to be pretty smooth and clear.
If this is your sixth pen, you are doing very well.
I hadn't seen the Patrizio before. Your choice of wood goes well with it.
Hope to see more of your work in the near future.
gordon

plano_harry

Nice looking pen! I was not a fan of the Patrizio, but you made it look good and I have to rethink my position. I like your photography. The shape of the pen is a very good extension of the hardware. Your CA finish looks good as well.

From the photos, it looks like the lower barrel is overturned a little at the centerband, as Gordon pointed out. Not as obvious in the other spots. If you don't have some good digital calipers, that would be the next step in advancing your art. Harbor Freight often runs a really nice 6" caliper for $9.99. I use 3 of these and set them to the exact diameter of the mating hardware. I originally planned to make a chart of various kits and dial-in the dimensions, but it is easier to measure the actual part and know you have a perfect fit. With an overturned tube, you can build up CA to get back to the hardware diameter if you want to go to that trouble.

Again, I really like the looks of the pen and wood combo you chose.

Harry

jmbaker79