Closed-end inlay Jr Gent

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Texatdurango

Status
Not open for further replies.

Texatdurango

My first inlay pen. I can't say it's my first attempt, there are "attempts" all over the shop! Today was fun, I spent all day in the shop thinking, measuring, making little jigs, turning, trashing and finally getting all the measurements, angles and depths to come together to suite me.

This is a closed end Jr Baron with a mesquite body and birch inlays with CA finish.

Constructive comments always welcome.

George

20075250269_baron-inlay-closed.jpg

200752502630_baron-inlay-open.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Texatdurango

Originally posted by PenWorks
<br />The lamination on the cap is wonderful,
The shape of the pen body does nothing for me. JMO
Thanks for sharing your opinion. It got me to thinking, so I sat the last closed end pen I made last week (http://www.penturners.org/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=24505) beside this one and they look totally different.

The two pens are almost identical, dimension and shape wise, yet when viewed together, look light years apart. Looks like the material used plays an important part in the overall balance of the pen and the straight grain of the mesquite doesn't work well with this shape afterall.

I wonder if putting a few matching swirl inlays on the bottom would help break up the long straight grain?

George

PenWorks