Clicker with a "swirl"

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Ted iin Michigan

Haven't posted anything recently. Not because I haven't been making anything. More because most of what I've been working on was for shows, etc. They're done and I've been experimenting with aluminum cans. This is my first try. It's a CSUSA Clicker. Oak with Coke can swirls.

attachment.php

I like the results but have a question for those of you who have done this type of work: if you zoom in, you can see what appears as a "ragged" edge to the aluminum. Is this normal or is there a way to avoid/correct this?

Thanks in advance,

Attachments

• IMG_0277.jpg
    IMG_0277.jpg
    114.7 KB · Views: 468
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Very attractive !!!!!

I can't help with the question about the edge of the aluminum. . But I have a question myself.

I like and I don't like the CSUSA clicker. . I call it the "clunker" because of the noisiness and rough operation. . But I really like the length of it to show off nice blanks. . Do you know of any way to get the mechanism to operate more smoothly ?

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
I like the results but have a question for those of you who have done this type of work: if you zoom in, you can see what appears as a "ragged" edge to the aluminum. Is this normal or is there a way to avoid/correct this?

Thanks in advance,

I have used cans, and have seen the same issues. I ended up using thicker/sturdier metals, but then you have the issues of the thickness that gets too pronounced when turned on the curve (my terminology is not quite correct, but you know what I mean).

Maybe the very thin aluminum in the cans nowadays (which have gotten very thin) tear rather than accept cutting and sanding? Hopefully others will chime in.

I do like the blank - very attractive; but I also agree with Mal - I have not especially liked the mechanism, although most did work OK.

OZturner

Thanks Ted for Posting your Swirl Clicker.