Civil war pen with train.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from CaptG

CaptG

OK, after all the great ideas I was given from my last laser engraved antler civil war pen, I decided to do another one. A thank you to Maxman400 for the battle scene picture, I worked for a couple hours with it on the computer, and even engraved it a couple times to test it, but the quality was so low that it just did not work. I will keep looking, thanks again Max. While I was looking for civil war battle pictures, I found this old train and thought it might look cool on the pen. It is hard to get a good look at it the way the picture is wrapped around the blank. It appears to be civil war era, but I am no train expert so I may be way off. This picture still took some photo shop enhancement, and I lasered it on the blank with low power two different times before I found a combination I liked. I turned the first two pictures off the blank reducing the diameter a bit. I started a bit overturned just in case. I am sure you will notice the under turn at the nib end. I am going to dis-assemble it tonight and build it up with ca and keep it for myself. All comments welcome and appreciated, thanks for looking.

Attachments

• civil war pen 002.jpg
    civil war pen 002.jpg
    27.6 KB · Views: 339
  • civil war pen 003.jpg
    civil war pen 003.jpg
    27.8 KB · Views: 198
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mtgrizzly52

Gary,

That is a super looking pen! I see a wide variety of possible customers of pens with either the steam or diesel locomotives as well as anything that deals with the Civil War. Being a 40+ year railroader, there is no doubt that rails would love to have a special pen like that. In addition, there is a huge group of rail buffs out there, more popularly called "Foamers" by us rails that would also love to have a pen similar to that one.

Awesome job on the laser work! :good::highfive:

Rick (mtgrizzly52)

PenMan1

Nice work, as usual, Gary.