Christmas '09 order

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Jon-wx5nco

Jon-wx5nco

I need to give a little background on my turning. I took my first wood turning class, a slimline pen making class @ Woodcraft, on Tuesday November 24, 2009. I made my pen out of cocobolo and finished it with Hut's Crystal Coat and Renaissance Wax. The next week I made a pen each night. I made one out of cherry, mahogany, walnut, beach, and oak. The beach was finished with CA, the others were finished in Crystal Coat and Renaissance Wax. My wife asked if she could take them to her school (an elementary school in Tulsa). Maybe she could sell them to the other teachers. So, I said "OK". I'm thinking to myself that I could sell 5-10 pens or so. I told her that I'd only charge $5.00 since I am still learning and, although I can see them no one else can, there are slight mistakes in them. The next thing I know, I have an order for THIRTY SIX (36) pens that have to be delivered in four (4) days! So, after I got off work, I went straight home and started cutting, glueing, trimming, turning, and finishing the pens. After some sleepless nights this is what I ended up with. Please forgive the bad photography, but at 12:30 am that was the best I could do.

The first pen on the bottom left is the pen I turned in the class @ Woodcraft. The next pen over is a Sierra made of Cherry for me. The next Sierra is a pen made for Renee's Principal. All the slimlines are made of either Cherry, Oak, Mahogany, Walnut, or Maple. Almost all of the teachers wanted the "bubble butt" slimline.

Any comments and critiques are welcome.
Christmas09.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jon-wx5nco

Justin, that is true. I still have no earthly idea what to charge for a slimline, or a sierra for that matter. But, for $5.00 I made some money on each pen. All in all, it was a great learning experience.

David M