Bottle Stoppers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from bassman00

Status
Not open for further replies.

bassman00

Here's the first batch of stoppers I made. They're not pens so I hope it's ok to show them off. They're from PSI's 10 piece starter kit (except the maple).

200412215587_BottleStoppers.jpg

(L-R) Zebrawood, Wenge?, Cocobolo, Bocote, Zebrawood, Paduak, Wenge?, Curly Maple & Paduak (in front). The five on the right all have loose rings. I did one as a test to see if I could and everyone loved it. So now I do most with loose rings. Unfortunately, the PSI kit didn't label the blanks so I'm taking an educated guess with the Wenge as it closely resembles my Wenge pen blanks. The 2nd one could be EI Rosewood because of the color but the grain doesn't look like my EI Rosewood blanks. I'm quite sure it's not Bubinga like their catalog states.

These are all on consignment at a store my sister-in-law works at. It was her idea as I'm very new at this and wanted to hone my craft more before venturing out. I also have a some friends and coworkers interested in buying some for gifts. :D

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bassman00

Thanks.

Two actually. [:I] A cocobolo and bocote. Both had catches and the blanks became loose on the screw chuck. Unfortunately, that number has grown since too. I guess I'll drill those out and glue in a dowel and try again in the future.

Old Griz

Passed Away Oct 4, 2013
In Memoriam
Just ordered 20 of those kits from Bill B.. he has them for $1.99ea. Also ordered some of his nice eyecandy stopper blanks that he has on sale... going to see how they do my Spring crafting booth.... first time attempting stopper sales....

wayneis

Paul the second from the left does look like Wemge but the other one unless its just the way the light is hitting on it looks like ebony to me. If its black or mostly black then it is ebony not wenge.

They all look good no matter what they are, you did a really nice job.

Wayne

jkirkb94