Black Ti Trimline, first cast

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from betwisted

betwisted

So, one of the things that intrigued me most, and is a driving factor in my pen creating hobby, is the idea that you can create your own materials. I picked up a white and clear alumilite kit last week just to play around with casting. I've never used any of these materials before. I also picked up some pearlex powders for coloring the resins. I mixed up a lavender and silver, stirred them for what I thought was about a minute then went to pour them in the PVC tube mold I set up. The silver set up as I was pouring it and I had to break it off, but I was lucky enough to quickly dump the lavender in before it set. I don't have a pressure set up, so the final product had a bunch of small bubbles in it (and one big one which I hid behind the clip).

Anyway, I turned the pen, filled the holes with CA, sanded to 600 and then ran the barrels through the 3 wheel buffing system. This pen represents a number of firsts for me: casting, filling, and buffing.

The picture doesn't do the pen much justice as there are a lot of subtle variations in both the lavender and silver that are apparent under close inspection. I also love the way the Black Ti looks and look forward to using more on other pens.

Thanks for reading, and questions, comments, and suggestions are appreciated.

Joe

Attachments

• HTP00010 - Copy.jpg
    HTP00010 - Copy.jpg
    55.9 KB · Views: 256
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I like the colors in this pen.