Black Palm cigar click

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from ToddMR

ToddMR

This is my first time turning palm at all. This is a piece of black palm I got in the pith trade. The kit is a gold/gun metal click cigar. I went ahead and for kicks, made the body as straight as I could. This time I did not bow the middle out like I normally do. I have to admit, I like it. Turning the palm didn't seem difficult at all to me. I used a scrapper and my skew for the most part. I did 2 coats thin and 6 coats med ca. I then did my wet MM from 1200-12000. I do see some swirls in my finish on the lower barrel. When I first got the pen together the click plunger kept sticking. I then took a file to the plastic inside the finial and that solved the issue. Let me know what you all think overall.

167098-438x.jpg
167099-438x.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ToddMR

I think it looks great! I didn't even know there was a cigar clicker. That kit looks nice with the palm.

I didn't either, but it is from PSI. Not too bad of a kit, kind of a nice change. Oh, and it comes with a gel refill. :wink:

PaulDoug

I think it looks great! I didn't even know there was a cigar clicker. That kit looks nice with the palm.

I didn't either, but it is from PSI. Not too bad of a kit, kind of a nice change. Oh, and it comes with a gel refill. :wink:

I may have to try one of the clicks. I have never cared for the double twist mechanisms. Guess I am one of the few.

juteck

Nice pen -- you did better on the palm than I ever have. Good job.

I've been eyeballing these click cigars, especially the pencil with 2mm lead. Aside from filing the plastic inside the finial, how smooth does the clicker feel?

Seer

Nice looking pen I love turning Palm if you want more at Rockler you can get a 1x1x12 blanks for $1.99 out here and cut your own. I tend to use alot of thin ca as I get close to keep it from blowing out and basically that stabilizes it. Good job.

OLDMAN5050

Passed Away May 15, 2019