Baron / Sedona

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from samuel07

Status
Not open for further replies.

samuel07

Here is a little experiment.

Comments welcomed on the pen and the photo.
Thanks,

200711744618_pic.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Skye

I'm no expert when it comes to birdseye, but that seems lacking in eyes.

Was the experiment with the finish?

samuel07

I'm no expert when it comes to birdseye, but that seems lacking in eyes.

Was the experiment with the finish?

I was practicing with the camera so most of the pronunced birdseyes are on the other side of the pen.
The expiriment was the Sedona centerband on the Baron Kit. The finish is one of my first attemts at a rubbed in laquer. I think I didn't get enough coats on it. But I'm very happy with it. It has a little more gloss than what the picture shows but definately not high gloss.

Skye

Rubbed in lacquer? Do you think there's going to be an improvement over dipping or spraying? I've sprayed a few, they always seem... soft. They're not soft, but there's just something tacky feeling about them. I cant put my finger on it (no pun intended).

samuel07

Skye
This method of application appeals to me because of the control it gives me with the amount of product I apply. I will be trying some spraying at some point with my badger airbrush, I just hate to break out the airbrush when I'm only working on one pen. Do you prefer dipping over spraying or visa versa?

Thanks for the input, The finish on the pens in your album are beautiful.

Skye