Aluminum/Carbon Fiber slim line

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Brotherdale

Brotherdale

This pen represents a couple of firsts for me and is also a stepping stone.
This was my first time turning aluminum. I bought some AL rod of various sizes so I could have plenty of kit choices.
The carbon fiber half was my first (successful) tube in cast with Liquid Diamonds.
I am an Aircraft Mechanic so I have been thinking about doing one like this for a while. In the not do distant future I will add titanium. And do closed end as well.
The aluminum was easier that I expected to turn on my Jet 1015.

View in Gallery

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Brotherdale

Very nicely done! And on a wood lathe no less. Titanium will be a challenge even on a metal lathe. I look forward to seeing more of your work soon. Great job!

Danny

Sent from my iPad using Penturners.org mobile app

My plan is to use Titanium for the clip on a capped pen. It files and sands pretty easily. I'm sure I could not turn it.
Everyday I walk onto an A380 and as I walk onboard I see carbon parts aluminum skin and blue anodized Ti door stops. I plan to make it remind me of that.

Jim, Cody and Mal thanks for the kind words.

More4dan

Very nicely done! And on a wood lathe no less. Titanium will be a challenge even on a metal lathe. I look forward to seeing more of your work soon. Great job!

Danny

My plan is to use Titanium for the clip on a capped pen. It files and sands pretty easily. I'm sure I could not turn it.

Everyday I walk onto an A380 and as I walk onboard I see carbon parts aluminum skin and blue anodized Ti door stops. I plan to make it remind me of that.

Jim, Cody and Mal thanks for the kind words.