4 month old turner complete newbie

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from scrollsawwoodart

Not really 4 months old but to turning I'm a newbie!:redface:

Well I have been lurking for quite sometime and I have asked just one question as of now but, the more and more I read and learn about this great art I know I will have more and there are some very knowledgeable.

Thought I would show my first actually completed pens that I got as my starter kit from grizzly. I know not the best photo but I see there is a section even for that.

I have bought myself some silmar 41 and some molds from misterart.com and plan on taking the leap and making some acrylic blanks. I will ask my questions there.

Here are the first ones, I started turning in February of this year so 4 months and I am hooked.

Thanks for looking,
Jesse

Attachments

• penweb2.jpg
    penweb2.jpg
    28 KB · Views: 209
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

IPD_Mrs

Welcome to a wonderful new hobby. It is addictive - and like anything that is addictive can be costly! Watch out for that :rolleyes:

It is also nice if you have someone to turn with (my husband and I both turn) and recently both my father and my son started.

From the looks of your pens it seems like you are about right on track for 4 months if not a little ahead of the game! You have already started doing shapes and that is one of the skills that some of us either wait a while to do or never really get the hang of.

I do agree that the photos aren't optimal - that too can be learned and improved on if photography is something you are interested in. If you aren't and you don't plan on putting pens on a website anywhere, then a nice photo (which you find satisfactory) will probably be sufficient to put in a memory album or log of some type.