2 New - Clearance Blank & Ankrom Burl & Swirl

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from toddlajoie

toddlajoie

Been chained to my desk at work for the past weeks, but when they let me out to hit the john, I sneak off and hit the lathe... Looks like I only had 2 bathroom breaks lately.

First is a blank that was on clearance at Woodcraft, was called "maple syrup, and didn't look like much square. Bought it to make a sample "Atlas" or whatever others call it pen to show people, but when LOML saw it it became a member of her ever growing collection, I didn't photo the better side of the blank, so the photo doesn't do the blank justice, and it was intended to just be a sample, so I didn't double check everything. body near the nib is a bit proud, and not in a good way:

Pens1152.jpg

This is my first attempt at a burl/resin mix, after hearing warning after warning of taking care and using a light touch, I was rather paranoid of destroying a cool one of a kind $12 blank, so I went crazy and took forever just getting it round, then sizing for the kit. The Cigar is one of only 2 sets of Johnny's TBC bushings, and they rock... I need more....This one lives on my desk for the near future, upgraded with a Parker Gel ink refill it writes like a dream...

Pens1154.jpg

Pens1155.jpg

All comments, criticisms and ridicule welcome...

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sefali

I bought a bought 100+ clearance blanks from Woodcraft. Maple syrup is in the top 3 so far. Your wife has a good eye.

greggas

Todd...nice pens...love the look of the syrup blank.

Is the lathe in the bathroom ...is it a sit down model?

Sorry I missed your presentation on Sunday...hope to see you at the next one

toddlajoie

oh and be careful the burl/resin blanks can become very addicting very fast :)