1st Try - Puzzle Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from mitchm

mitchm

This is my first attempt at a Puzzle Kit from Kallenshaan. A skew, $55 kit and 2000 rpm results in a nervous wreck (bearing in mind that I pay in South African Rands which are 10 to the Dollar). Finish is CA/BLO mixed with many drops of sweat.....Comments welcome! :)

Attachments

• Puzzle 1 SOYP.jpg
    Puzzle 1 SOYP.jpg
    98.9 KB · Views: 395
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rangertrek

Very nice looking pen. I recently did two of the Christian Fish kits from Kallenshane for a client and had the same feeling about working on the kits. Everything turned out OK. I now have more confidence working with high end kits. Keep up the good work.

OldWrangler

I did one of these about 2 months ago. It took me 7 1/2 hours just to fit it together. I found that some pieces go together from the underside and some on top. My pieces were not all marked it a number and some did not match the diagram. With a lot of help from Ken at Kallenshaan I finally got it together and then it turned beautifully. I put it in a display at one of my retailer, the art gallery and it sold for $150 before I got home. I have waited for a couple of months to tackle another but the art gallery keeps bugging me for more of them. I have them on order from Ken now.....might even come in today!!!!!

So they are tough but really worth it. And Ken is great about helping. I wish they would mark the numbers better but the instruction, if followed to the letter, are very helpful. Bare in mind I am old, my hands tremble from early Parkinson's and my eyesight is not wonderful. A fellow turner has taken pity on me and offered to assemble them as she enjoys it(?). I want to try one more before I send them to her. I am also gonna tackle one of his Moonscape kits. That looks really cool. Probably only a 5 1/2 hour project to put together.

And the price is definitely got to go up to $195.

Last edited:

ed4copies