1st Fountain Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from lyonsacc

lyonsacc

This is my first fountain pen. I was hesitant to make one just because I have never used one before. Now that it is made I wonder why I waited so long. They are pretty fun to write with.

The blank is a redwood burl w/ acrylic I received recently during a PITH swap from Eric (Buzzz4). The pen is a Jr. Gent I from Smitty (a prize from last year's BASH - thanks Smitty!)

Dave

Attachments

• 1-28-14 016.jpg
    1-28-14 016.jpg
    144.2 KB · Views: 224
  • 1-28-14 018.jpg
    1-28-14 018.jpg
    147.7 KB · Views: 170
  • 1-28-14 019.jpg
    1-28-14 019.jpg
    147.4 KB · Views: 148
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

scotirish

Nice looking pen Dave. Let me tell you how this works: 1) Make a fountain pen, 2) Discover "Private Reserve" color ink. Now you are on the wave, need a pen for every color ink. :tongue::tongue:
That is why I have 42 fountain pens in my room. :wink::wink: Use all of them. :eek::eek:
Ron

bjbear76

Nice job, Dave. I got hooked the same way. I made a couple of fountain pens; felt like I needed to experience the feel of using it before selling them and got hooked. Now I use a fountain pen almost exclusively. I've found myself looking for different blanks to make myself a variety of pens instead of planning on selling them.
Keep up the good work.

BTW, do you attend the OVWG meetings?

lyonsacc

The short answer is no. I talked to a few guys at Woodcraft about it - probably a year or more ago. Never got around to going to a meeting and then had forgotten about it. Would be interested to some time.

Do you go?

Dan Masshardt

Nice pen.

If you've ever made a rollerball from Berea or some of the csusa (oh boy) kits, you probably also made a pen that can be a fountain pen with no further effort than unscrewing the front section.

There is admittedly something cool about fountain pens.

bjbear76